Und in der Mitte Plakat

And there we are, in the middle

a film by Sebastian Brameshuber

Und in der Mitte, da sind wir
DOCUMENTARY | 2014 | A | 91 min | German | DCP: 2k 1:2.39 cinemascope | 25b/sec


  • General
  • Cast&Crew
  • About the film
  • Trailer
  • Festivals & Prizes
  • Biography
Ebensee is a small Austrian town surrounded by mountains. In 2009 a radical right-wing incident took place during the annual memorial service in the former concentration camp of Ebensee. It was caused by local teenagers. Director Sebastian Brameshuber took the incident as an opportunity to accompany three young people from Ebensee by following their lives over the course of a year: from softguns to guitars, from Lederhosen to DocMartens, from school to work life. His film AND THERE WE ARE, IN THE MIDDLE shows with clear and unembellished images a portrait of a generation that is trying to find it’s own way between yesterday and tomorrow, between traditions and McDonald’s. An intimate piece of history.

Director: Sebastian BrameshuberScreenplay: Sebastian BrameshuberCamera: Klemens HufnaglEditing: Sebastian Brameshuber, Elke Groen, Emily ArtmannSound: Hjalti Bager-Jonathansson, Marco ZinzProduction Management: Marie Tappero
Production: Gabriele Kranzelbinder
Funding: Österreichisches Filminstitut, ORF-Film-Fernseh/Abkommen, FISA, Land Oberösterreich, Zukunftsfonds der Republik Österreich, Land Niederösterreich
In Ebensee, a small town in Austria surrounded by mountains, three teenagers - Ramona, Andreas and Michael - seem to be waiting for something. A new shopping center is being built, but the planned shop offer is rather disappointing for them. While the arrival of visitor buses for the annual memorial service in the former concentration camp causes not only curiosity, but also  suspiciousness in the young residents, the older generation stay predominantly skeptical. They want to distance themselves from the dark past of the area, from the dark tunnels, relics of the Nazi past. During the 2009 memorial it came to a radical right-winged interference caused by local teenagers in one of the tunnels. Director Sebastian Brameshuber took the incident as an opportunity to accompany three young people from Ebensee by following their lives over the course of a year: from softguns to guitars, from Lederhosen to DocMartens, from school to work life. His film AND THERE WE ARE, IN THE MIDDLE shows with clear and unembellished images a portrait of a generation that is trying to find it’s own way between yesterday and tomorrow, between traditions and McDonald’s. An intimate piece of history.

Ebensee is a small Austrian town surrounded by mountains. In 2009 a radical right-wing incident took place during the annual memorial service in the former concentration camp of Ebensee. It was caused by local teenagers. Director Sebastian Brameshuber took the incident as an opportunity to accompany three young people from Ebensee by following their lives over the course of a year: from softguns to guitars, from Lederhosen to DocMartens, from school to work life. His film AND THERE WE ARE, IN THE MIDDLE shows with clear and unembellished images a portrait of a generation that is trying to find it’s own way between yesterday and tomorrow, between traditions and McDonald’s. An intimate piece of history.
Festivals:

Berlinale FORUM 2014

Diagonale 2014 



Biographie Sebastian Englisch (Achtung da hat es auf der Homepage die Formatierung zerstört ):  
Born in 1981 in Gmunden, Austria. Graduated from University of Applied Arts Vienna in 2011. Since 2004, short, experimental video works have been produced under the pseudonym Fordbrothers (in cooperation with Thomas Draschan), and have been screened at numerous international film and video art festivals as well as art exhibitions. With PRESERVING CULTURAL TRADITIONS IN A PERIOD OF INSTABILITY  the Fordbrothers made a highly regarded contribution to so-called Austrian avant-garde cinema. It was screened at the Viennale, BFI London IFF, Hong Kong IFF, Max-Ophüls Festival, Impakt Utrecht, EMAF and New York Underground FF, amongst others, and received the No Budget Award  at the Shortfilmfestival Hamburg in 2005 as well as a Honorable Mention  at the Media City 11 Festival in Ontario, Canada. First feature length documentary MUEZZIN  premiered at Karlovy Vary IFF 2009 and was subsequently screened at over 30 international filmfestivals. In 2010 it was awarded Best Documentary  at Medfilmfestival Rome. MUEZZIN  was theatrically released in Austria in 2010 and later broadcasted by ARTE, NHK, ORF, Aljazeera and other channels. Work on the second feature length documentary AND THERE WE ARE, IN THE MIDDLE  which will premiere at the Berlinale 2014 (Section FORUM). Lives in Vienna and Roubaix, France, where he is currently enrolled at Le Fresnoy – Studio National des Arts Contemporains.  

Filmography 
And there we are, in the middle | 2014 | 91 min. 
Muezzin | 2009 | 85 min. 
With the spoon towards your mouth! | 2011 | 35 min. looped  

in cooperation with Thomas Draschan: 
Everything’s gone green | 2007 | 4 min. 
Keynote | 2006 | 4 min. Bloodsample | 2005 | 4 min. 
Preserving Cultural Traditions in a Period of Instability | 2004 | 3 min.





www.indermitte-derfilm.com


© KGP Kranzelbinder Gabriele Production

Und in der Mitte Plakat

Und in der Mitte, da sind wir

ein Film von Sebastian Brameshuber

DOKUMENTARFILM | 2014 | A | 91 min | Deutsch | DCP: 2k 1:2.39 cinemascope | 25b/sec

  • Info
  • Besetzung & Crew
  • Über den Film
  • Trailer
  • Festivals & Preise
  • Biographie

In Ebensee, einem kleinen Ort im ländlichen Österreich, scheinen die drei Teenager Ramona, Andreas und Michael auf etwas zu warten. Ein neues Einkaufszentrum wird gebaut, doch das geplante Shop-Angebot finden sie eher enttäuschend. Während das Eintreffen der Besucherbusse zur alljährlichen KZ-Gedenkfeier die Neugier, aber auch das Misstrauen der jungen Bewohner weckt, sind die Älteren überwiegend skeptisch. Man will sich von der dunklen Vergangenheit des Ortes distanzieren, von den finsteren Stollen, Relikten aus der Zeit des Nationalsozialismus, die vom Rand des Ortes aus als unheimliche schwarze Löcher den Dorffrieden bedrohen. In einem dieser Stollen ereignete sich während der KZ-Gedenkfeier 2009 eine rechtsextreme Störaktion durch ortsansässige Jugendliche. Regisseur Sebastian Brameshuber nahm den Vorfall zum Anlass, ein Jahr lang drei jugendliche aus dem Ort beim älter werden zu begleiten: von der Softgun zur Gitarre, von der Lederhose zu DocMartens, von der Schulbank ins Berufsleben. Mit nüchternem Blick und klaren Bildern zeichnet UND IN DER MITTE, DA SIND WIR ein unromantisches Portrait einer Generation, die zwischen Brauchtum und McDonald's, zwischen Vorgestern und Übermorgen versucht, ihren Weg zu finden. Ein intimes Stück Zeitgeschichte.

 



Regie: Sebastian BrameshuberDrehbuch: Sebastian BrameshuberKamera: Klemens HufnaglSchnitt: Sebastian Brameshuber, Elke Groen, Emily ArtmannTon: Hjalti Bager-Jonathansson, Marco ZinzProduktionsleitung: Marie Tappero
Produktion: Gabriele Kranzelbinder
Förderungen: Österreichisches Filminstitut, ORF-Film-Fernseh/Abkommen, FISA, Land Oberösterreich, Zukunftsfonds der Republik Österreich, Land Niederösterreich

Im Mai 2009 kam es in Ebensee, einem kleinen Ort im ländlichen Österreich, zu einer rechtsradikalen Störkaktion durch ortsansässige Jugendliche während der alljährlichen KZ-Gedenkfeier. Regisseur Sebastian Brameshuber nahm den Vorfall zum Anlass, um ein Jahr lang drei Jugendliche aus dem Ort beim älter werden zu begleiten: von der Softgun zur Gitarre, von der Lederhose zu DocMartens, von der Schulbank ins Berufsleben. Mit nüchternem Blick und klaren Bildern zeichnet UND IN DER MITTE, DA SIND WIR ein unromantisches Portrait einer Generation, die zwischen Brauchtum und McDonalds, zwischen Vorgestern und Übermorgen versucht, ihren Weg zu finden. Ein intimes Stück Zeitgeschichte.



In Ebensee, einem kleinen Ort im ländlichen Österreich, scheinen die drei Teenager Ramona, Andreas und Michael auf etwas zu warten. Ein neues Einkaufszentrum wird gebaut, doch das geplante Shop-Angebot finden sie eher enttäuschend. Während das Eintreffen der Besucherbusse zur alljährlichen KZ-Gedenkfeier die Neugier, aber auch das Misstrauen der jungen Bewohner weckt, sind die Älteren überwiegend skeptisch. Man will sich von der dunklen Vergangenheit des Ortes distanzieren, von den finsteren Stollen, Relikten aus der Zeit des Nationalsozialismus, die vom Rand des Ortes aus als unheimliche schwarze Löcher den Dorffrieden bedrohen. In einem dieser Stollen ereignete sich während der KZ-Gedenkfeier 2009 eine rechtsextreme Störaktion durch ortsansässige Jugendliche. Regisseur Sebastian Brameshuber nahm den Vorfall zum Anlass, ein Jahr lang drei jugendliche aus dem Ort beim älter werden zu begleiten: von der Softgun zur Gitarre, von der Lederhose zu DocMartens, von der Schulbank ins Berufsleben. Mit nüchternem Blick und klaren Bildern zeichnet UND IN DER MITTE, DA SIND WIR ein unromantisches Portrait einer Generation, die zwischen Brauchtum und McDonald's, zwischen Vorgestern und Übermorgen versucht, ihren Weg zu finden. Ein intimes Stück Zeitgeschichte.

 


Festivals:

Berlinale FORUM 2014

Diagonale 2014 



Sebastian Brameshuber wurde 1981 in Gmunden, Oberösterreich geboren. Er schloss 2011 sein Studium der Bühnen- und Filmgestaltung an der Universität für Angewandte Kunst in Wien ab und studiert zur Zeit am Le Fresnoy – Studio National des Arts Contemporains. Er lebt in Wien, Österreich und in Roubaix, Frankreich. 2004 begann er, gemeinsam mit dem österreichischen Künstler Thomas Draschan unter dem Psydonym Fordbrothers kurze experimentelle Videoarbeiten zu poduzieren, welche auf einer Vielzahl von internationalen Filmund Videofestivals sowie Ausstellungen gezeigt wurden. Mit PRESERVING CULTURAL TRADITIONS IN A PERIOD OF INSTABILITY  gelang dem Duo ein vielbeachteter Beitrag zum so genannten österreichischen Avantgarde-Film. Der Film wurde auf einer Vielzahl von Festivals gezeigt, darunter die Viennale, BFI London IFF, Hong Kong IFF, Max-Ophüls Festival, und New York Underground FF. Er erhielt den No Budget Award  im Rahmen des Shortfilmfestival Hamburg, 2005 und eine Honorable Mention  im Rahmen des Media City 11 Festival in Ontario, Canada. Sebastian Brameshubers erster Dokumentarfilm MUEZZIN  feierte seine Weltpremiere im Rahmen des Karlovy Vary IFF 2009 und wurde bei über 30 internationalen Filmfestivals gezeigt. 2010 erhielt der Film den Preis Best Documentary  des Medfilmfestivals in Rom. MUEZZIN  startete 2010 in Österreich im Kino und wurde später von vielen internationalen Fernsehstationen, unter anderem ARTE, NHK, ORF und Aljazeera ausgestrahlt. Sein zweiter Dokumentarfilm UND IN DER MITTE, DA SIND WIR feiert seine Weltpremiere im Forum der Berlinale’14.  

Filmografie 
Und in der Mitte, da sind wir | 2014 | 91 min. 
Muezzin | 2009 | 85 min. 
Mit dem Löffel zum Mund | 2011 | 35 min. looped  

in Zusammenarbeit mit Thomas Draschan: 
Everything’s gone green | 2007 | 4 min. 
Keynote | 2006 | 4 min. Bloodsample | 2005 | 4 min. 
Preserving Cultural Traditions in a Period of Instability | 2004 | 3 min.





www.indermitte-derfilm.com


© KGP Kranzelbinder Gabriele Production